• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Live folk music by locals?

Time of past OR future Camino
2023: a bit of CF, then San Salvador & Primitivo
I am wondering if anyone has any tips for finding out about small gatherings of local folks playing live (folk, traditional) music in towns along the Frances/San Salvador/Primitivo that I might tap into. I am NOT a musician, but I will be missing my circle of friends who play roots/old time/bluegrass and It would be so sweet to be able to attend small gatherings of local folks who sit around and play traditional music. Do I just ask the Hospitalera for tips? Is this something that typically happens after all good pilgrims are in bed? Music is the universal language and local/roots/traditional music is such a great way to make friends with locals.

The 9th edition the Lightfoot Guide will let you complete the journey your way.
I am wondering if anyone has any tips for finding out about small gatherings of local folks playing live (folk, traditional) music in towns along the Frances/San Salvador/Primitivo that I might tap into.
I can only speak for rural Portugal, not Spain, but at least in Ptgl it seems most often that kind of group generally plays for community occasions like Saint's Days, town festas, etc. I get the impression that they're pretty private about jamming. Cafés are more likely to have the football game on in the afternoon or evening, rather than live music.