• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

new girl on the block

lesleyjane

hello everyone, my name is Lesley, I'm a 56 year old woman, overweight and unfit who is currently undergoing chemo and surgery for breast cancer. Walking the way of st James in late spring 2009 has become my focus and inspiration and I would be most grateful for any advice anyone might have. I must confess that my motivation is spiritual more than anything else, but as I have no experience of long distance walking I don't want to land up being so heavenly minded that I'm no earthly good! I had tentatively thought that 10miles a day might be a manageable daily distance, does this seem reasonable? I expect to have a double mastectomy in November and thought that if I swim regularly and build my strength up slowly over winter and early spring that I might manage this distance each day. I am not time constrained at all and would like to walk the entire way. I know I have many questions to ask, but this seems the most pertinent one at the moment, so I would be most grateful for some feedback. Many thanks to you all.

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
Welcome to the forum! I hope you are feeling better soon & your treatments go as planned. :)