• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Renault 4

KinkyOne

Veteran Member
Time of past OR future Camino
I'am not perfect, but I'm always myself!!!
Because I know that the most members of this forum are from "over the ocean" I doubt that they would contribute to this thread. Nevertheless, that is really an item that had became something special over the years compared to my Camino "hook". It's Renault 4, simple 4-gear car (TL-850ccm & later GTL-1100ccm), kind of an "tin envelope with an engine" so to speak, but with the same charm as maybe VW Bug in the States. I used to have three of them in the row when I was a student, 20+ years ago: bright yellow, red and blue. So many memories.........., ahhh....

As a peculiarity- this car had the shifting rod in form of an umbrella handle, which was mounted in (out of) the middle of the dashboard. Very appropriate for smokers ;)

As I know the car was originally designed (and ordered from) for Foreign Legion and only then became a hit in France. Don't really know how it came to ex-Yugoslavia??? Have to dig into that some more ;)

I've only succeded to take 4 photos of that car in Spain (they are almost extingushed I guess throughout Europe - maybe not France) and I'd be very happy if you happened to have some photos of that particular car.

Thanks all in advance! :)

K1

PS (Oh, yes, the car was often used for transporting goods from the fields etc., so they developed the pick-up version also)

Attachments

• 1464-F4 in Furela (Fonfria-Pintin, 17.06.2011).jpg
    1464-F4 in Furela (Fonfria-Pintin, 17.06.2011).jpg
    268.8 KB · Views: 48
  • 1545-R4 in Furelos (Ventos de Naron-Melide, 20.06.2011).jpg
    1545-R4 in Furelos (Ventos de Naron-Melide, 20.06.2011).jpg
    275.8 KB · Views: 46
  • 1555-R4 in a village before Calle (Melide-Brea, 21.06.2011).jpg