• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Research on Pain Coping Strategies on the Camino

gracekenzie

Time of past OR future Camino
May-June 2023
Hi all! I am a graduate student in research psychology and am collecting data on pilgrims' pain coping strategies (while also walking the Camino myself!). If you are CURRENTLY walking the Camino, I would appreciate if you could take my survey (linked below). It will only take 5-10 minutes, and your input will help inform the fields of health psychology (pain management) and pilgrimage studies.
https://wakeforest.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_ba2cOeNBIPozSsu? Q_CHL=qr

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
The 9th edition the Lightfoot Guide will let you complete the journey your way.
I am posting the survey in online forum groups, as well as asking people I meet along the way to complete the survey.
I skim read your Ethics stuff and so I may have missed it. Is this a Master's level or PhD level research project?

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
I skim read your Ethics stuff and so I may have missed it. Is this a Master's level or PhD level research project?
No worries - I don’t think I directly mentioned it. This is for my master’s in Research Psychology

Last edited:
No worries - I don’t think I directly mentioned it. This is for my master’s in Research Psychology at Wake Forest University in North Carolina, USA.
Okay, then I can be a bit nicer to you.

Your sampling technique, as described is not mentioned in any of the Research Methods books that I have read. But, with a minor change you can convert it into a recognised sampling method.