• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.
  • Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

School trip

Jo Bowers

Time of past OR future Camino
(2017)
Hi/hola

I am a Spanish teacher in a catholic school in England and along with my Religious Studies colleagues we are hoping to organise a pilgrimage with a group of students. We hope to walk from Sarria to Santiago at Easter 2017 to earn the Compostela and I was wondering if anybody has ever done this with a school group?

A big concern I have is accommodation. I am worried that if we are a group of 15 that we would be unable to find accommodation in a refugio. In addition, given that refugios are mixed dormitories and we are travelling with school children there could be an issue there with safeguarding (I mean with the rules, not that I think anybody in a refugio would attack our students!).

My questions then are as follows:
a) are there hostels that have single-sex dormitory accommodation, that I can book in advance? If so, how much are these likely to be?
b) are we likely to be able to house a group of 15 or so in a refugio by just turning up?
c) how difficult is this route?
d) does anybody have any advice?

Many thanks for your help.

Jo

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
Transport luggage-passengers.
From airports to SJPP
Luggage from SJPP to Roncevalles