• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Too soon to second Camino?

Wanderwoman2

Time of past OR future Camino
May 2023
Hi all!
I'm wondering if it's too soon to do a second Camino from Le Puy to SJPDP exactly a year after my first. I did the Camino Frances in April-May 2023.

I had some life things to work through and went on the trip expecting that stuff would come up, which it did, and I worked and walked through it until I found my joy. Coming home was a rough transition because the Camino really shook up my old ways of living, but it was good and necessary!

I took a temp job which ends around March 2024 and I started thinking about doing Le Puy route because I loved France, I've been doing Duolingo for 6 months, watching French TV and listening to French music. Plus I could take the time off between jobs, but might not have that flexibility again if I take a full-time position right away.

My concerns are that the last Camino was such a whole spiritual and emotional upheaval, and I don't I need that right now. Ie, I'm not searching for anything now like I was then. Le Puy doesn't seem to have that reputation anyway. Or does it? If you aren't taking it as a specifically spiritual journey, does it become drudgery or do you slip back into that zone of peaceful mindfulness more easily the second time around? Would it be too soon to do a second Camino (exactly a year after the first)? Like would it spoil the experience of the first to do a second so soon after? Or have I not marinated enough in the last one? Should you space these trips out for pivotal moments of life or just go for the joy of it?

You guys always have such good insight and really helped saved my last Camino so I thought I'd ask you all!
Thanks 🥰