• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

A Painters Camino

Time of past OR future Camino
Frances 2022
I’ll be starting the Camino Frances next year in April 2020 right after Easter. Luckily, I’m very flexible timewise. Ideally, I would start as soon as the traditional path through Pyrenees is open. I’ve been actually thinking about this for probably 20 years, when I first read an article in the Sunday New York Times about the Camino. Distractions, and other things I wanted to do got in the way, and so here I am.

I’m an artist and oil painter by vocation, and the purpose of most of my travel is to go somewhere and paint outdoors. l’ve spent a lot of time planning and doing research, and started with the idea of walking the Camino with my paints, and maybe a cart. Or using the courier services. ( someone recently did this with a donkey! ) But now I think my plan will be to do a pure walking Camino without my painting equipment, which is heavy. After I’m done, I will rent a car , and drive back to the beginning and spend a month or more painting all the wonderful things I’ll have seen. This way, I’ll have a more informed idea of what I actually want to paint before I start doing it.

First I go to Madrid on April 1, to see the great art museums and do some sketching there and maybe in Toledo. I have to leave April 1, because I’ll be subletting my apartment for three months, (If anybody wants to spend three months in Maine, USA, this spring🤪).

I have many questions and will be seeking advice on the forum in detail in the next few weeks. Great to find such a wonderful community here.

A selection of Camino Jewellery
I’m very flexible timewise. Ideally, I would start as soon as the traditional path through Pyrenees is open.