• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Base training level-future Camino at least a year away?

Time of past OR future Camino
2022 SJPP-Cruz de Ferro
If you have no immediate plans for a Camino what do you aim for in terms of walking/training weekly?
I let my hiking/walking slack off this summer - did a 4.5 mile hike this am and noticed it.
I'm a 67 yo woman and I think my days of getting in shape quickly for when I do do another Camino in a year or two are over!

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
I try to make walking my daily activity and my path to good health in old age - regardless of whether I ever walk another Camino. I have been walking 50 km/week for several years, with the exception of the past summer. As a retired person, I am lucky to have the time. After my last Camino in June, I eased right off, due to some persistent foot problems and the demands of my garden. Now I am trying to get back to that level (now at 30-40 km/week) - for my health, as well as for the Camino.

It really depends on the individuals state of health, fitness level and body weight.

I'm lazy. I don't train really. I'm 66.
As a Camino date starts approaching I do two things.

1. Reduce my bodyweight. I'm normally quite overweight (10-12 kg or so) so this gives me an incentive to lose some weight. I know if I don't that the Camino is going to hurt! So I aim to get my BMI into the upper range of 'normal'. Actually, lower range of overweight, just checked. I'm normally about 32 and aim for 27 or below. Maybe next time I'll try to get to 25!
  2. I walk a bit. Nothing much really. Some easy walks on a soft surface, around local parks, hiking trails. Maybe building up to 20 kms / week.

But......