• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Descent into Roncesvalles

Ahaj

I have only ever turned right and descended on the road into Ronscevalles assuming it would be too hard on the knees to go the main route. I have an occasional, minor degree of pain in one knee on steep descents. I am wondering just how hard the forest way is. Has anyone done both and have an opinion on which they prefer and why? I’m thinking of giving it a go but only if I’m really missing out by going the longer road way.

A selection of Camino Jewellery
HI @Ahaj

Last October I walked from SJPP to Roncesvalles for the 4th time. All previous times I took the steep path, but this time I took the alternative. I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it picturesque. I've read descriptions of it as 'walking on the road' but I think that's misleading. It's a very quiet 'road' and much of the time we were on a grassy verge. I wonder if that was your experience. There were some lovely views looking down to Roncesvalles and I liked the entry into Roncesvalles.

The steep path through the forest is atmospheric for sure, but I seem to recall that each time I've walked it I was very focused on how I was walking, and being careful not to trip or slide. I found the alternative more enjoyable in that regard. So, in trying to answer your question, I have enjoyed both but I too have a few knee issues - and if I walk that path again, I will choose 'the road' option again.