• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Is it possible to walk from Barcelona to Santiago?

beccamitch

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances in April/May 2024
Hiya! I have never done any of the Camino trails before, I haven't even done a walk that lasted more than 5 days, but I've had the idea to walk from Barcelona to Santiago, is that a crazy idea or have many people done it before? I've been really keen to do a Camino trail for quite sometime now and I'll be living in Barcelona until April making me think April is the time I should start my camino. I was keen to do the Camino Frances, but getting from Barcelona to Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port seems nearly impossible?! Which made me think what if I were to walk to Santiago from Barcelona , rather than travelling up to to SJPDP. Does anyone have any experience on this route (I know there are probably multiple routes you can take)? I know there are plenty of albergues on the camino Frances but are there many on the route from barcelona until I join up with Frances?

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
It's doable. You want the Camino Catalan that starts at Monserrat. There are a number of ways to walk to Monserrat from Barcelona, at least three (and a train too). The Catalan splits with one way passing through Huesca and San Juan de la Peña to meet with the Camino Aragonese leading to the Francés at Puente la Reina. The other Catalan route joins the Camino del Ebro passing through Zaragoza and joining the Francés at Logroño.

I've done Barcelona to Puente la Reina and a fellow walker made it from Barcelona to SdC.

Two places I immediately can think of sending you to are:

The forum's sub-forum for the Catalan: