• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

What to bring...

pepeeto

I am an avid musician and I am planning on bringing my guitar. Has anyone or is anyone bringing a musical instrument on the road, and did you enjoy doing that. Alternatevely, did you regret bringing your guitar, re; extra weight, cumbersome..etc.

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
In PILGRIM SNAIL BUSKING TO SANTIAGO Ben Nimmo writes about his walk from Canterbury to Santiago - with his trombone!!
He played with local musicians, busked in the streets and seemed to have had a great time!

The first edition came out in 2003 and has become the go-to-guide for many pilgrims over the years. It is shipping with a Pilgrim Passport (Credential) from the cathedral in Santiago de Compostela.
Hi Pepeeto!

This was discussed last year somewhere - just search on 'guitar'. There are alternatives such as ukuleles and mandolins, which are more portable. As always it's a bit of a compromise; either extra weight and bulk or ditching something else. One of the other practical considerations is waterproofing!

Buen Camino!

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
And of course seeing an instrument is always valuable : keeping an eye on it while you are showering could be tricky.
On the other hand, I met a guy on the CF with a guitar : lovely music!

Texan chap turned up at a rest stop I had set up near Logrono ... about five of us there, as it moved to twilight he played, passed on the guitar, another played - it was wonderful, utterly wonderful.

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!