• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Advice for SJPP and next day to Orrison

Melissa Barry

Time of past OR future Camino
Start 9/1/17
Hello all !
I'm very new to all of this. I just made the decision to do the Camino and I'm finding that maybe I needed a little more planning time, however, the plane tickets are already purchased.

I booked my first night in SJPP through bookings.com and heard back from gite azkorria that they are full. They gave me the name of MAKILA for another place to try. Then I received an email back from the refuge orrison that they are booked for what I though would be my second night. They gave me the offer of staying at Gite Atton saying that someone (a friend of his) would come by car to get me and bring me back to orrison the next day.

I don't know any of these places and does this all sound legit? How about logistically? Should I just try and spend both nights at this Gite Atton? Has anyone had any experience with any of these places? I'm worried I'm not going to have anywhere to stay (not only for the first two nights but throughout journey). It seems everything is very full. Thanks for you help and advice !!

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
Welcome,
How soon are you going? Where are you coming from? How long will you have to walk the Camino?
Yes this is normal. Orisson fills fast, has only 28 beds.
Just begin searching for a bed at St Jean, you will find one.

Welcome,
How soon are you going? Where are you coming from? How long will you have to walk the Camino?