• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Any Advice about how to strengthen my knees for down hills.

Billy Buell

Walking Willie
Time of past OR future Camino
Le Puy to sjpdp, next planned Norte.
On 2 previous caminos I had to take rest days due to my knees becoming very sore from going down steep hills. Is there any exercise or precaution I can practice to avoid this reoccurring. I'd like to do Norte in September but fear the down hills will injur my knees.

A selection of Camino Jewellery
It would be helpful to know where your pain is when you are walking downhill.

I discovered that I needed to work on stretching and massaging my IT band to relieve pain that I got on the outside of my knee when I walked downhill.

I have zero medical background, but I've learned that the cause of the pain is often not the same place where you feel the pain.

On 2 previous caminos I had to take rest days due to my knees becoming very sore from going down steep hills. Is there any exercise or precaution I can practice to avoid this reoccurring. I'd like to do Norte in September but fear the down hills will injur my knees.

I'd go to see a Physio as a first step.
These things are complicated........ :oops:

I get knee pain on downhills, but it's due to a multitude of reasons.
Arthritis, Bursitus, split meniscus etc etc.

Your causes are likely to be different and require different 'fixes'.

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-