• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camping on VDLP: Feasible or not?

Frogatthefarriers

Time of past OR future Camino
March 3023
Another question. Camping.

I’ve been bikepacking for a few years now, but only in UK and max for four days, but thought to extend this to my Camino in September. My thought was to try to camp out every other day, and albergue the others to wash my kit and meet fellow Peregrinos.

Is that feasible, do you think? What snags am I likely to encounter?

I well understand the 'leave no trace' and no fires thing.

Last edited:
St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
I walked the Mozarabes in spring and weather was fine. I don't know any other camino. So the terrain might be better in the North.

I used a bivvy bag and tarp instead of a tent. Finding a space under a tree to sleep on and the tarp as a covering.

Camping is not easy to do on the trail as I found a lack of topsoil in which to put a peg in. Farmland is rocky and sandy. There just didn't seem to be a decent patch of grass for a tent.

Pastureland where sheep and cattle feed would be okay for a tent, but it's often patrolled by big farm dogs that wander freely. And you'd get spotted quickly.

In general you couldn't expect some kind of a wild camp pitch to appear in the way it does in the UK.

A bivvy bag is good enough for mild weather and lightweight. I managed to cook food and tea on a gas stove. A few people spotted me but didn't interfere.

I used an olive grove, a viewpoint outside Villaharta, and common area outside Cordoba and a public picnic area outside Merida, where there was a water tap!