• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Personal security

Wayfarer1

Time of past OR future Camino
June 2023
This is my first time doing the Camino, and as a solo traveller, I'll be traveling with money and a passport, neither of which I want to lose. How safe are the various accommodations regarding theft, or are people pretty honest with belongings.(I like to think fellow pilgrims are!) I'm not suggesting leaving things in the open, but if they're tucked securely in my pack, will it be safe overnight?
I like thinking the best of people, but I've been caught it before.

Join the Camino Cleanup in May from Ponferrada to Sarria. Registration closes Mar 22.
The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
if they're tucked securely in my pack, will it be safe overnight?
Yes, ALMOST every night. Its the almost that is the problem. I zip my money, cards, and passport into the pocket of my hoodie, which is also my pillow. Most people keep their "steal-ables" very close at hand at all times, including when using the shower and bathroom facilities.

It’s a route filled with hundreds of thousands of pilgrims, villagers, tourists, and the like. And even if 99.99% are angels, that still leaves dozens of devils milling about. Theft on the Camino is rare, but it happens. Sometimes it’s a fellow pilgrim looking for a little financing, other times it’s thieves posing as fellow travelers. You won’t know until after the fact, so while you should open your heart to all those around you, certainly keep your wallet closed and safely tucked away.