• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.
  • Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Your stones, your shells, your burdens....then moving on.

naplesdon

Veteran Member
Time of past OR future Camino
Multiple Caminos 2010 to 2019
I have been walking the Camino since 2011 in memory of my daughter's unfortunate death in 2010. It is a very personal mission for me and even more difficult to discuss.
There are many, many pilgrims who have eclipsed my minuscule Camino endeavors and have far greater stories to tell about their personal tragedies and their incredible walks.
I've learned over the years some of you people are an integral and important part of the daily life on the Camino because you live and work there.
I've left several stones and photos dedicated to my daughter at the Cruz de Ferro over the years, but at the age of 69 I have been struck by how many friends I have lost in the past decade. So last winter I decided to collect scallop shells on the beach where I live in Florida. I give each one a name for a friend or family member I've recently lost and leave them somewhere discretely along the way. Next year there will be one for Denise.
My burdens will be lighten 2016. I have decided to travel around the world next year. I have rented out my apartment in Biarritz with the view of la Rhune, so no snow reports in April onwards. Sorry for that!
Hopefully Reb' s got me scheduled for a stint at San Anton in June or July.
Love this forum but I think it is time to say GOOD-BYE!

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!