• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

But what about the handicapped?

Paintboy2

Time of past OR future Camino
I'm a veteran pilgrim, but have recently suffered an injury that has left me handicapped. I can walk, but with great difficulty. Still, I find that I'm unable to give up on my love of Caminos. I'm going to try for another one, maybe next year if I can get my legs to work well enough. My question is, are there any dedicated handicapped facilities in the albergue that would allow someone who cannot walk fast to still get a bed at the end of the day? We did the Norte last summer (before my injury) and beds were very scarce. My walking days may over I'm afraid.

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
I believe that once you enter Galicia if you have documentation of your disability that you will be accommodated. I recall @JabbaPapa remarking about this on his last Camino and so maybe he will respond.

I was accommodated in a disabled room walking the CP in 2022 in a Xunta albergue. I had asked for a bed near a power point so that I could use my CPAP, and wasn't expecting more than that. I didn't realize this until the next morning, and didn't enquire about the conditions of its use.

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!