• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino etiquette - passing others on less-busy caminos

JustJack

Time of past OR future Camino
CF: May/June 2023
VDLP: April/May 2024
Help me out with some basic etiquette. I walked the CF last spring, but I’m still learning the ropes. I’ll be walking the VDLP in April, and I know I will see far fewer pilgrims when I’m walking. I’m wondering what others do in this situation: you slowly catch up with another pilgrim while walking. Let’s assume a solo pilgrim and you’re also alone. It’s not someone you’ve met previously. Do you walk past them, saying Buen Camino and continue walking past them, or do you slow your pace and walk along side them? It seems almost intrusive to suddenly be walking with them, essentially uninvited. But on the other hand perhaps some would perceive it to be rude if I was to pass them without slowing to walk with them for a bit.

Again, I’m thinking about the VDLP specifically here, as I think the lack of pilgrims might create a different vibe than what there is on the CF.

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
I'd also just say "Buen Camino!" and continue on at my own pace. If the other person wants to start a longer conversation they will probably make that clear. I think that just falling in alongside and walking uninvited with someone who is walking solo would be intrusive and insensitive.